Twitter

14/06/22

Take pride! Celebrating diversity and difference this Pride month, by standing together at HAO

13/06/22

Retweetd From Kinetic Foundation

🚨 𝗦𝗜𝗚𝗡𝗜𝗡𝗚 𝗔𝗡𝗡𝗢𝗨𝗖𝗘𝗠𝗘𝗡𝗧 🚨 We're delighted to announce that Jabari Christmas has signed a professional contract with QPR FC & becomes our 57th signing to a professional club that has been on our academy programme 📝 https://t.co/sQVrfVdpNn https://t.co/tDmtNYWons

10/06/22

This is amazing news! Congratulations to Jabari.

10/06/22

Retweetd From Kinetic Foundation

Adam Flemming: “I’m absolutely buzzing for Jabari and also our football academy programme as we have had 3 players sign at professional clubs from since September and I’m sure there will be more.” https://t.co/sQVrfVdpNn

16/05/22

Calling all HAO pianists! Apply now! 🎵 🎹 https://t.co/qK7jJ2U57I

15/05/22

Check out your local library for the upcoming Queen's Jubilee 🦉📚📙📘📗📕📖 https://t.co/MmDzvwIN8Y

13/05/22

Calling all HAO musicians! 🎵🎼🎹🥁🎺🎻📯🎶 https://t.co/e6pJVgLriE https://t.co/dYVYS4L668

13/05/22

We look forward to hearing if they progress to the next round. https://t.co/dNrtUzUs3N

13/05/22

Ms Brown took a group of 5 students from Y 7, 8 & 9 who have been training weekly to compete in the for London competition yesterday. They represented the school and had a fantastic afternoon filled with maths challenges. https://t.co/eJbYXVtYZ6

11/05/22

A day of celebrating of all things dance! https://t.co/2wSIWquRa8

11/05/22

Calling all HAO musicians and anyone who would like to try! 🎵🎼🎹🎤👩‍🎤🥁🎷🎺🎸🎻📯🎶 https://t.co/Ktnk1EAp8K

11/05/22

Calling all HAO instrumental musicians! Apply now at https://t.co/VkWrc5FCyR! 🎵🎺📯🎻 https://t.co/puCerLr2sh

05/05/22

Phil shares his love for reading and writing and talks about the reasons he wrote ‘When the Sky Falls’. He will also talk about his new novel to be published next month ‘While the Storm Rages.

05/05/22

Bromley Libraries are continuing their digital programme of 'Meet the Author' which is shown on their Facebook page. This Sat at https://t.co/dJYddvQGvP on https://t.co/p54UMEfkL6, you can hear from Phil Earle, author of the shortlisted Carnegie title: When the Sky Falls.

04/05/22

A shout out to our Head Boy Lee on his win at the Kent Schools Golf Championship yesterday. Representing HAO he competed against others from around Kent. Winning the event by 2 shots he will now go on to represent HAO in the Regional and National Championship in May! https://t.co/OpMcFQMiW7

26/04/22

Retweetd From Kinetic Foundation

𝐑𝐚𝐥𝐟𝐢 𝐇𝐚𝐧𝐝 🏆 Congratulations to Kinetic graduate Ralfi Hand who lifted the Professional Development League 2 South title trophy with Charlton Athletic U18’s at the weekend 👏 https://t.co/FMMkB4PEIo https://t.co/jtSsLDxGcr

22/04/22

Year 12 psychology students take on an egg-straordinary challenge. Introducing their new egg babies for the next 7 days. https://t.co/faiDSTqBLx

20/04/22

For aspiring writers, hear it straight from the author! https://t.co/u16mN7H2Nr

06/04/22

Many of our students are supported by BYMT's Young Musician Fund so please donate to this very good cause and help HAO to keep making music! 🎵 https://t.co/quwTDPtWl6

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page. Harris Academy Orpington provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the governors of the academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum: parents are invited to contribute to cover the costs involved, on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place
  • For the cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance a wish to own the finished product.

A paper copy of any information on the school's website is provided free of charge to parents on request.


Complaints

The Academy will always try to resolve your concerns informally in the first instance. Shoud you have a concern, please raise it with the appropriate staff member: your childs Tutor, Head of Year or Faculty Director. 

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy you may wish to make a complaint. Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page.

Please address and concerns or complaints to the Head of Academy, Mr Carey, via: Miss Austin at info@harrisorpington.org.uk or clerktogovernors@harrisorpington.org.uk.

Please address any complaints regarding the Executive Head, Head of Academy or a Governor to the Chief Executive's Office - info@harrisfederation.org.uk. 



Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its academies use any personal data about its students. We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing privacy notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the data controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore determines the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’). Your academy and authorised third parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore data processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our academies, in order to provide an outstanding education. This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including to:

  • Support student learning
  • Protect student welfare
  • Monitor and report on student progress
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, kept secure and retained for no longer than is necessary. We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so. For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer
Harris Federation    
Wellesley Road
Croydon                  
CR0 1LH                                                                                                                           

Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                             
Tel: 020 8253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work.

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the 'subject' of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a publication scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our publication scheme (see further down the page) you can make a request for the information you require in writing. Please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely,

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below.

Back to Key Information