Twitter

31/01/24

Our first cohort to talk future aspirations with our guests are Year 9. pic.twitter.com/0evKYXQWej

31/01/24

Getting ready for our Careers Fair this morning with some amazing visitors ready to speak to our students pic.twitter.com/u6vvMl8849

19/01/24

Not for the faint hearted! Year 13 Psychology students got all practical today as they dissected sheep's brains. Why? This was to support their revision of the parts of the brain for the Biopsychology. pic.twitter.com/1AW8mvTfkI

12/01/24

Crochet enrichment - just some of the amazing work being created by our students. pic.twitter.com/qvko8lgXFl

08/01/24

We are consulting on our Admissions Policy for 2025-2026. For further information, please see the enclosed link.https://t.co/bYSmRL9rgc pic.twitter.com/pgWd7bOW8j

19/12/23

Exploring the wonders of biology during a sixth form taster day yesterday – students fully engaged in the fascinating world of kidney dissection! 🧪🔬 " pic.twitter.com/uQ58IJrJrh

19/12/23

We are consulting on our Admissions Policy for 2025-2026. For further information, please see the enclosed link.https://t.co/bYSmRL9Z5K pic.twitter.com/iWcja3QhM5

12/12/23

Thank you to all the parents and students who braved the not so great weather to attend our apprenticeship information evening for Years 10-13. Thank you to our guest speakers from team. pic.twitter.com/5TM7f2UeAS

12/12/23

The motion argued was 'This house would ban advertising aimed at children'.The afternoon was well spent and students from both schools did well and enjoyed themselves. pic.twitter.com/DDo0a6vjBp

12/12/23

Last Friday, 15 students from came to HAO for the 2nd leg of debate training and competition. The students from HAO represented themselves well against the experienced and eloquent speakers of Bromley High School. pic.twitter.com/9kdl6XZJ7f

08/12/23

Final game of our ESFA group saw another rivalry, with HAO taking on in a tight, tense, up and down game. Claiming the top spot with a well fought 3-2 victory is…HAO. Onward to the knockout stages! pic.twitter.com/ySDC8ELw4s

04/12/23

Congratulations to Mr Stuchfield for growing what can only be described as a resplendent moustache for charity as part of “Movember”. pic.twitter.com/fHIhG3YIw9

24/11/23

1st round of the London Cup, saw Harris Orpington take on Harris Beckenham in a local rivalry. A good game with Harris Orpington claiming a 4-0 victory. pic.twitter.com/fa6koPG0l5

17/11/23

For more information on this cause, follow the link: https://t.co/g2lRaHkUHh

17/11/23

Mr Stuchfield is raising awareness for - 'I am bravely sporting a truly egregious moustache in front of 800 children every day'.This is the before picture - Lets check back in at the end of the month for a progress check.To donate: https://t.co/5Ys2Lc5DzD pic.twitter.com/XY03cCzZP7

17/11/23

And taking the time to explore the trenches…Mr Koubaa joined in too! pic.twitter.com/LdGndWzesy

17/11/23

Paying our respects at the Canadian memorial at Sanctuary wood pic.twitter.com/15mHUptGMQ

17/11/23

Yesterday was an early start for our avid historians! But they made it to Folkestone for the crossing over to Calais… pic.twitter.com/ovLLlMOzSG

14/11/23

pic.twitter.com/845yfmXspe

14/11/23

Thanks to those that attended this evening. It was great to see some alumni. pic.twitter.com/EkoEQw0bcd

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Stratford

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

Willesden

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page. Harris Academy Orpington provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the governors of the academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum: parents are invited to contribute to cover the costs involved, on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place
  • For the cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance a wish to own the finished product.

A paper copy of any information on the school's website is provided free of charge to parents on request.


Complaints

The Academy will always try to resolve your concerns informally in the first instance. Should you have a concern, please raise it with the appropriate staff member: your child's Tutor, Head of Year or Faculty Director. 

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy you may wish to make a complaint. Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page.

Please address and concerns or complaints to the Head of Academy, Mr Carey, via: Miss Austin at info@harrisorpington.org.uk or clerktogovernors@harrisorpington.org.uk.

Please address any complaints regarding the Executive Head, Head of Academy or a Governor to the Chief Executive's Office - info@harrisfederation.org.uk. 



Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its academies use any personal data about its students. We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing privacy notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the data controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore determines the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’). Your academy and authorised third parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore data processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our academies, in order to provide an outstanding education. This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including to:

  • Support student learning
  • Protect student welfare
  • Monitor and report on student progress
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, kept secure and retained for no longer than is necessary. We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so. For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer
Harris Federation    
Wellesley Road
Croydon                  
CR0 1LH                                                                                                                           

Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                             
Tel: 020 8253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work.

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the 'subject' of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a publication scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our publication scheme (see further down the page) you can make a request for the information you require in writing. Please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely,

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below.

Back to Key Information