Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

16/09/21

Fantastic enthusiasm from our cookery enrichment group, which is part of our extended curriculum. https://t.co/a0f8u39mOv

13/09/21

Another exciting start to the week for Harris Orpington and another fantastic performance from the Globe Players. A Christmas Carol was brought to life to years 10 and 11 and yet again, they were brilliant! https://t.co/gKt6EUpFWp

12/08/21

Delighted to see so many happy faces here this morning at Harris Orpington with our incredible year 11 students collecting their GCSE results https://t.co/TzLGzTB6Ng

10/08/21

We are really proud of our Year 13s after such a difficult year and absolutely delighted to see so many happy faces https://t.co/zLlVoNYguV

01/08/21

Retweetd From Formula 1

BREAKING: Sebastian Vettel has been disqualified from the , losing his second place Stewards were unable to take the required amount of fuel for sampling following the race https://t.co/Cbts8m9R0f

23/07/21

Girls turn https://t.co/ahXlnNIu1L

23/07/21

Students getting ready for the year 10 200m race. HAO sports day https://t.co/FKn8J5dO3h

21/07/21

Year 12 and 10 attending the Spirituality Conference today https://t.co/yRVkZZNNji

19/07/21

Year 7 students have created some fantastic Islamic inspired art prints https://t.co/ihViBLAyXT

19/07/21

Some of our Year 8 students completed their watercolour lesson in the sunshine. They produced some fantastic work! https://t.co/z5xi3dfphK

19/07/21

Including an 'in action' video! https://t.co/tPqHoloqHm

19/07/21

Year 8s learned about forces and propulsion in their recent workshop, creating cars powered by balloons! Check out some of these awesome designs! https://t.co/DhGjlIu5aT

14/07/21

Year 10 started their virtual work experience this morning with Everyone is working hard

13/07/21

Year 10 engaging with Holocaust Memorial day and exploring the discrimination and atrocities https://t.co/2eHp55OHTf

13/07/21

We're pleased to see another team have escaped! https://t.co/NW2RMcBEGV

13/07/21

I 'wonder' which Year 7 will win our reading bingo today? https://t.co/sWYvDF9gMI

13/07/21

More 'escape' room antics and team building from 'The Big Picture' Day https://t.co/Yklln0IdqA

13/07/21

A great start to our ‘The Big Picture’ Day! So far we have had interactive timelines with Year 10. Year 9 trying to ‘escape’ the ranch from ‘Of Mice and Men’ and Year 7 completing team building. There’s more fun to come! https://t.co/iALk9wwBBZ

08/07/21

It was lovely to welcome the ‘Globe Players’ back to perform Macbeth to our year ten students today. Students are already looking forward to next year’s performances of An Inspector Calls and A Christmas Carol https://t.co/1vYDsCHOUQ

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page. Harris Academy Orpington provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the governors of the academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum: parents are invited to contribute to cover the costs involved, on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place
  • For the cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance a wish to own the finished product.

A paper copy of any information on the school's website is provided free of charge to parents on request.


Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page. If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy you may wish to make a complaint.

Please address complaints to the Head of Academy, Mr Carey,via his Personal Assistant: Mrs Rumble, H.Rumble@harrisorpington.org.uk.

Please address any complaints regarding the Executive Head or Head of Academy to the Chief Executive's Office - info@harrisfederation.org.uk



Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its academies use any personal data about its students. We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing privacy notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the data controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore determines the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’). Your academy and authorised third parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore data processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our academies, in order to provide an outstanding education. This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including to:

  • Support student learning
  • Protect student welfare
  • Monitor and report on student progress
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, kept secure and retained for no longer than is necessary. We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so. For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer
Harris Federation    
Wellesley Road
Croydon                  
CR0 1LH                                                                                                                           

Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                             
Tel: 020 8253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work.

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the 'subject' of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a publication scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our publication scheme (see further down the page) you can make a request for the information you require in writing. Please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely,

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below.

Back to Key Information